“The Next MacGyver” Top 12 signature event



Twelve competition finalists pitch ideas aiming for the first iconic TV show with a female engineer main character.



Five winners will be announced (each given $5,000) and paired, on the spot, with successful Hollywood producers as mentors who will help them develop five original pilot screenplays.


A special session with entertainment insiders on the process “From Script to Screen” will be
followed by a rooftop reception for finalists and guests.



Tuesday, July 28, 2015

2 to 6 p.m.



The Paley Center for Media

465 North Beverly Drive

Beverly Hills, CA 90210

John H. Mitchell Theatre








In partnership with:













Media Contacts:

Lisa Inouye, PMBC Group, O: 310.777.7546, lisa@pmbcgroup.com

Robert Perkins, USC, O: 213.740.9226, C: 213.220.0017, perkinsr@usc.edu

Randy Atkins, National Academy of Engineering, O: 202.334.1508; atkins@nae.edu

Megan Levy, The Lippin Group/The Paley Center for Media, O: 323.965.1990, megan@lippingroup.com


Watch the exciting LIVE conclusion of “The Next MacGyver” Competition!

A link to the live stream will be available on July 28.


Thirty years ago, MacGyver inspired a generation of engineers. In 2015, we're looking for a new
TV show to inspire the next generation of engineers.


Selected from nearly 2,000 worldwide submissions, 12 finalists will present their visions (complete with visuals from 12 concept artists) of unique female engineer heroes in a variety of genres (comedy, drama, action, science fiction, etc.). Each will receive 10 minutes to pitch their ideas and respond to questions from the judges.


While judges are deliberating, a special panel session, “From Script to Screen” — illuminating the process of taking a TV show concept from idea to pilot — will be moderated by Katherine Oliver, principal, Bloomberg Associates.


Who: Judges include:


Wanda Austin, Aerospace Corporation president and CEO; member, President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology


Madeline Di Nonno, Chief Executive Officer of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media


America Ferrera*, actress/producer, (Ugly Betty, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants)


Clayton Krueger*, senior vice president of television, Scott Free Productions (3001: The Final Odyssey)


Maja J. Matarić, professor and Chan Soon-Shiong Chair in Computer Science, Neuroscience,
and Pediatrics; vice dean for research, USC Viterbi School of Engineering


Lori McCreary*, CEO and founder, Revelations Entertainment; president, Producer’s Guild of America (Madam Secretary, Through the Wormhole with Morgan Freeman)


Gabrielle Neimand*, head of Take Fountain Productions; producer (The Last Exorcism, The Thing)


Roberto Orci*, writer/producer (Star Trek, Scorpion, Sleepy Hollow, Hawaii Five-O, Fringe)


Debbie Sterling, founder and CEO, GoldieBlox


Valerie Weiss, Writer, director and producer (Losing Control, A Light Beneath Their Feet)biophysicist, founder, PhD Productions


Lee Zlotoff, MacGyver creator


Anthony E. Zuiker*, creator and executive producer, CSI franchise
(including the recently launched CSI:Cyber)


*will be serving as a competition mentor to one of five winners